

500 Davis Street, Suite 900 | Evanston, IL 60201-4695 | Toll-free 877.905.2700 | Fax 847.556.1436

info@amtamassage.org | amtamassage.org

The City of Mesa City Council

Dear Councilmembers,

We are writing on behalf of the American Massage Therapy Association (AMTA), in response to the City of Mesa's final draft ordinance related to massage therapy. We appreciate the opportunity to offer our expertise and input during this process.

AMTA is the largest non-profit, professional association serving massage therapists, massage students and massage schools. Established in 1943 and numbering some 95,000 members, AMTA works to advance the profession through ethics and standards, the promotion of fair and consistent licensing of massage therapists in all states, and public education on massage therapy health benefits. More than 2,000 massage therapists currently practice in Arizona.

AMTA commends efforts that local and state governments take to rid their communities of illicit businesses operating under the guise of "massage, "and we strongly oppose any burdensome ordinances and regulations that are at the expense of legally practicing professional, educated and licensed massage therapists.

We are pleased to see the changes made to the City of Mesa's proposed ordinance, and it's inclusion of the legal definitions and terminology related to massage therapy as defined in Arizona Revised Statutes title 32, chapter 42. We commend the removal of language that would have allowed loopholes for unlicensed and untrained individuals to fraudulently practice under the guise of massage therapy in the City of Mesa. The current draft does an effective job of adding provisions to protect the public, as well as upholding the established standards of the massage therapy industry.

James Specker AMTA Director, Industry and Government Relations jspecker@amtamassage.org

AMTA Board of Directors

President Steve AlbertsonPresident-Elect Michaele ColizzaImmediate Past President Angela BarkerDirectors Christine Bailor-Goodlander, Pat Collins, Cindy E. Farrar, Robert C. Jantsch, Jane Johnson, Kimberly Kane-Santos,
Patricia L. Phillips, Scott Raymond, LaDonna WardExecutive Director Bill Brown